Clarion Area Jobs

Community Partner

Want to post an ad on exploreClarion?

Contact us today at 814-918-2003 or email

Free Classifieds

Local Sponsor Spotlight Contest Winners

Featured Local Job

Featured Local Event

Incumbents Dominate Race for Clarion County Commissioner Seats

Wednesday, May 22, 2019 @ 12:05 AM

Posted by Aly Delp

commissionersCLARION CO., Pa. (EYT) – The three incumbent candidates have taken the nominations for the Clarion County Commissioner seats in Tuesday’s primary election.

(PHOTO: Left to right – Ed Heasley (D), Ted Tharan (R), and Wayne Brosius (R).)

Incumbents Wayne Brosius and Ted Tharan won the Republican nominations for Clarion County Commissioner.

Brosius received the most votes with 3972, while Tharan came in second with 3262 leading Kirke Wise, who received 2195 votes.

Brosius and Tharan have served as county commissioners for eight years.

Wise’s background is in the electronics and technology sectors.

In the Democratic race, incumbent Ed Heasley was the only candidate on the ballot, garnering 1938 votes.

Heasley has served as a county commissioner for four years.

An official tally of write-in votes could add a second candidate to November’s Democratic ballot, as a total of 771 write-in votes will be counted later this week.

Running in the primary election as a Democratic write-in candidate, Braxton White currently serves on the Clarion Area School Board and the Clarion Career Center Board.

The nominees will go head to head in the November election for the three available seats.

Only registered party members are allowed to vote in the primary elections; however, in the November elections, voters can select up to two candidates of any party.  Three are elected commissioner.

The other county row office races on Tuesday’s ballot ran unopposed.

Greg Mortimer took the Republican nomination for Clarion County Register Recorder with 5496 votes.

Tom McConnell took the Republican nomination for Clarion County Treasurer with 5338 votes.

Jeff Himes took the Republican nomination for Clarion County Prothonotary with 5204 votes.

Pamela Zahoran took the Democratic nomination for one of the three Clarion County Auditor seats with 1995 votes, while Sue Leonard and Jolene Weaver Frampton took Republican nominations with 4149 votes and 3428 votes respectively.

Copyright © 2019 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.


Local and National Sports News


Recipes submitted by our Readers


local movie listings


Have a suggestion?