Clarion Area Jobs

Community Partner

Want to post an ad on exploreClarion?

Contact us today at 814-297-8004 or email

Free Classifieds


Local Sponsor Spotlight

Clarion U. SBDC: Resources for Small Businesses Affected by COVID-19 Contest Winners

Featured Local Job

Featured Local Event

Clarion’s Newcomb, Smith Earn D9 Large School Football Division Major Honors

Thursday, November 7, 2019 @ 12:11 AM

Posted by Chris Rossetti

Austin Newcomb Clarion Dave CyphertFRILLS CORNERS, Pa. (D9Sports) – Clarion’s Austin Newcomb and Ben Smith were honored with major awards in the D9 League Large School Division football.

(Photo of Clarion’s Austin Newcomb. Photo by Dave Cyphert of ProPoint

Newcomb and Kane’s Jake Alcorn were named Co-Offensive MVPs, Brookville’s Nathan Taylor was named Defensive MVP, Ridgway’s Gabe Watts was named Defensive Lineman of the Year, Clarion’s Ben Smith was named Offensive Lineman of the Year and Ridgway’s Mark Heindl was named Coach of the Year.


Offensive Lineman of the Year: Ben Smith – Clarion
Defensive Lineman of the Year: Gabe Watts – Ridgway
Offensive Co-MVP: Austin Newcomb – Clarion and Jake Alcorn – Kane
Defensive MVP: Nathan Taylor – Brookville
Coach of the Year: Mark Heindl – Ridgway

All-Division Team

Offensive Interior Line
Greg Simon, Ridgway
Jake Walter, St. Marys
Ben Smith, Clarion
Elliot Park, Brookville
Riley Davis, Karns City
Cameron Faust, Brockway
Donnie Thomas, Moniteau
Mitch Knepp, Clarion
Reese Novose,l Kane
Wide Receiver/Slot Back
Ian Thrush, Brookville
Ethan Burford, Clarion
Bryce Walker, St. Marys
Matt Dush, Ridgway
Robert Keth, Brookville
Austin Green, Ridgway
Running Back/Slot Back
Austin Newcomb, Clarion
Gabe Watts, Ridgway
Jake Alcorn, Kane
Jon Wood, Brockway
Jack Wickett, Ridgway
Tight End
Nathan Waltman, Karns City
Kevin Scharba, Kane
Paul Gresco, Ridgway
Calvin German, Clarion
Jack Krug, Brookville
Return Specialist
Max London, Punxsutawney
Kaden Scherer, Karns City
Jake Alcorn, Kane
Caleb Nuzzo, Bradford
Nathan Taylor, Brookville
David Stamm, Moniteau
Place Kicker
Aaron Hottel, Kane
Paul Gresco, Ridgway
Ethan McDeavitt, Moniteau
Owen Collwell, Karns City
Nick Martino, Moniteau
Teddy Race, Kane
Robert Briggs, Ridgway
Nathan Waltman, Karns City
Cutter Boggess, Clarion
Nathan Taylor, Brookville
Connor Bressler, St. Marys
Anthony Kamenski, Karns City
Derek Sunafrank, Bradford
Defensive Line/Ends
Riley Davis, Karns City
Elliot Park, Brookville
Gabe Watts, Ridgway
Simon Sheeley, St. Marys
Kevin Scarba, Kane
Derek Ishman, Punxsutawney
Mitch Knepp, Clarion
Jake Wickett, Ridgway
James Davis, St. Marys
Austin Newcomb, Clarion
Ben Glasl, Brockway
Bobby Rumcik, Kane
Kyle MacBeth, Brookville
Kaden Scherer, Karns City
Terry Williams, St. Marys
Josh Sorg, Ridgway
Connor Ford, Brockway
Tyler Watts – Ridgway
Christian Coudriet – St. Marys – Quarterback
Luke Garing – Karns City – Linebacker

Copyright © 2020 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.


Local and National Sports News


Recipes submitted by our Readers


local movie listings


Have a suggestion?