Clarion Area Jobs

Community Partner

Want to post an ad on exploreClarion?

Contact us today at 814-297-8004 or email

Free Classifieds


Local Sponsor Spotlight

Clarion U. SBDC: Resources for Small Businesses Affected by COVID-19 Contest Winners

Featured Local Job

Featured Local Event

‘Stay at Home’ Order Issued for Allegheny County

Monday, March 23, 2020 @ 02:03 PM

Posted by Jill McDermott

america-2053302_1280ALLEGHENY COUNTY, Pa. (EYT) – Residents of Allegheny County will be under a “stay at home” order as of 8:00 p.m. Monday evening.

State Representative Mike Puskaric posted the following on Facebook:

At 2 p.m., a “stay at home” order will be issued for Allegheny County. It will go into effect at 8 p.m. tonight (Monday, March 23) and will be in effect for two weeks.

People can continue to work if they’re on the life-sustaining-business list or have received a waiver. Also, residents can go out for food, emergencies, exercise, and volunteering.

Philadelphia Mayor Jim Kenney put his city on similar restrictions as of 8:00 a.m. Monday.

All Philadelphia residents must remain home or at their place of residence unless they are engaged in Essential Personal Activities that are spelled out in the order.

strong>Examples of essential personal activities include:

– Obtaining essential goods and services
– Seeking medical attention or seeking assistance from law enforcement or emergency services
– Caring for family members, friends, or a pet in another household
– Delivering essential goods or services
– Reporting to or performing a job related to an essential business
– Moving in or out of a home or apartment
– Certain outdoor activities such as walking, running, cycling, or operating a wheelchair while using appropriate social distancing rules
– Education, religious, or political activities

The mayor noted the move was necessary because people weren’t taking requests to stay at home seriously.

Governor Tom Wolf ordered all non-life-sustaining businesses to close as of Monday morning.

California was the first state to order residents to shelter in place on Friday, March 20.

Other states issuing “stay at home” orders include Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Ohio, New York, New Jersey, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

Copyright © 2020 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.


Local and National Sports News


Recipes submitted by our Readers


local movie listings


Have a suggestion?