Clarion Area Jobs

Community Partner

Want to post an ad on exploreClarion?

Contact us today at 814-297-8004 or email [email protected]

Free Classifieds

  Contest Winners


Featured Local Job

Featured Local Event

Clarion U. SBDC: Resources for Small Businesses Affected by COVID-19


Counting Down 15 Top HS Sports Stories from EYT Media Area: No. 8 Andy Evanko Passes Away After Long Fight with ALS

Monday, July 8, 2019 @ 12:07 AM

Posted by Chris Rossetti

Andy-Evanko-CurwensvilleCLARION, Pa. (D9Sports) – Over the next few weeks we will take a look at the Top 15 stories to impact the EYT Media coverage area (,,


Not every story can be a happy one.

On June 5 longtime Curwensville football coach Andy Evanko passed away after a long fight with ALS (Lou Gehring’s disease).

Despite having a disease that ultimately took his life and took his voice before that, Evanko continued to coach the Golden Tide through the end of the 2018 season never missing a game and always being there for his players.

Those players rewarded Evanko’s dedication by making his final win as the Curwensville head coach win No. 150, a 26-0 victory over Elk County Catholic in the District 9 Class 1A quarterfinals.

Evanko’s career record in 19 seasons at the helm of the Curwensville football program was 150-63, an incredible 70.4 percent winning percentage. He guided the Golden Tide to three District 9 Class 1A titles (200, 2004 and 2010), the only football titles in school history and also helped Curwensville to runner-up spots in 2001, 2006 and 2018. He was the District 9 Coach of the Year in 2004.

Evanko’s teams were known for their ground-and-pound style, and he coached the top three all-time leading rushers in District 9 history (Nick Stewart, 7,324 yards), Nick Sipes (5,963 yards) and Alex Holland (5,734 yards) and his running backs hold five of the top eight single-season rushing marks in D9 history (Holland No. 2 – 2,600 in 2010 & No. 6 – 2,334 in 2011; Nate Sipes No. 3 – 2,511 in 2004; Zach Tibbens No. 5 – 2,345 in 2013; and Stewart No. 8 – 2,032 in 2016).

He also coached two District 9 Players of the Year (Nate Sipes in 2004 and Nick Sipes in 2006), one District 9 Defensive Player of the Year (Brad Sopic in 2004), two Rookies of the Year (Stewart in 2014 and Doug Swatsworth in 2002) and four Offensive Lineman of the Year (Jonathan Michaels in 2009, J.D. Skebo in 2005 and Brad Sopic and Sean Farley in 2004). The four Offensive Lineman awards are the second-most among any school in District 9 since the inception of the award in 2002.

Evanko’s legacy of building young men of character will live on forever in Curwensville.


8. Curwensville Head Coach Andy Evanko Passes Away
9. Newcomb Sets D9’s Single-Season Rushing Mark
10. Franklin Baseball Wins D10 Title, Advances to PIAA Semifinals
11. Young Clearfield Softball Team Reaches PIAA Semifinals
12. Cranberry Softball Goes to PIAA Semifinals
13. A-C Valley Girls’ Basketball Wins KSAC Title; Advances to PIAA Quarterfinals
14. Oil City’s Emma Stevenson wins 1,600-meter run at District 10 championship
15. Clarion Volleyball Wins D9 Title Advances to PIAA Quarterfinals

Copyright © 2022 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.


Local and National Sports News


Recipes submitted by our Readers


local movie listings


Have a suggestion?